For the Love of Outlander

Hello there! It’s Lauren and I wanted to give you guys a fun and brief backstory on how The Fan Girls Podcast came to be. It all started with Julie and my’s shared love of Outlander, the highly popular TV series based on the brilliant Diana Gabaldon’s book series of the same name.

Julie and I met on September 5th, 2017 at an Outlander Fan event for season 3 at The Grove in LA. She got in line behind me and I noticed she was wearing a sweatshirt that said “Je Suis Pres.” As all dedicated Outlander fans know this is the Fraser Clan motto, which means, “I am ready.”

The first thing I said to Julie was “We’re ready to sister!” We spent the day together at the fan event, made flower crowns, talked with men in kilts, yelled at them for not knowing what a sporran was, got t-shirts at the “printshop,” and ended the day by getting to view an advanced screening of Outlander Season 3 Episode one! Outlander writers, Tony Graphia and Maril Davis were there to introduce the episode and it was incredible!


Julie and I were fast friends from that day on. Last year during quarantine we bonded over fan theories for Harry Potter and it got us thinking, why not start a Podcast? So, we did. It didn’t happen quite that fast, but as the true Capricorns that we are, we did our homework. We researched and applied knowledge over and over until we were ready to record our first episode.


The Fan Girls Podcast launched on May 5th, 2021. Less than a month later we pitched our show to Bleav Podcast Network and were signed to the network within a couple of days. We are still growing and learning about the Podcast Industry but we are truly enjoying the process. I feel lucky every day to have a business partner who is as dedicated as I am, but even more importantly, I am lucky to have amazing conversations with my best friend about our favorite fandoms and call it my job.

To hear more about how our love of Outlander brought us together and some juicy Outlander plotlines listen to our podcast HERE!

If you enjoy listening to the Fan Girls Podcast show us some love by:

Subscribing to our Podcast HERE

Writing and 5-Star review HERE

Subscribe to our blog HERE

Xo,

Lauren

Leave a comment