5 Books You Need on your Kid’s Bookshelf ASAP

As a mom of three I have done a lot — I mean a LOT of bedtime reading. My oldest daughter just turned sixteen last week (which I still can’t believe by the way) and I realized, that’s 16 years of reading bedtime stories! Gosh am I old enough for that? The gray hairs I color over every month are shouting a resounding YES! Anyway — I digress — in those 16 years of choosing and curating a bedtime book collection I have picked my top 5 ( current ) favorites. Some of these picks are classics, some are newer and some are just plain fun. This isn’t a hard and fast list because there are always new books to discover and all my kids have different preferences so we’re always reading new stuff.

1. We are the Gardeners Written By: Joanna Gaines & Kids

Illustrated By:Julianna Swaney

This is a sweet story of perseverance by way of gardening. The beautiful illustrations bring to life this sweet and simple, how to book, that you can almost hear Joanna Gaines narrating.

Buy it HERE

Lily in the Garden

Lily, my 6 year old, absolutely loves this book especially since we’ve started a garden of our own 3 months ago.

2. Pete the Cat I Love My White Shoes Story By: Eric Litwin

Art By: James Dean (Creator of Pete the Cat)

I love this book so much. It teaches kids to remain lighthearted and flexible when things don’t go their way. I don’t know about you guys but one of the biggest lessons I have to try to teach my kids is to go with the flow… And who am I kidding I have to remember that myself and this is the perfect book to do that.

Buy it HERE

3. The Little House By: Virginia Lee Burton

The Little House, by Virginia Lee Burton, is by far my favorite children’s book of all time. The illustrations are absolutely delightful and make you want to dive right into the book. Lily and I spend a lot of time looking at every detail in each illustration. This precious story is about a home, that is lost and then found in a beautifully redemptive way.

Buy it HERE

4. Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site By: Sherri Duskey Rinker and Tom Lichtenheld

This has been my son William’s favorite bedtime story since he was gifted this book when he turned one. My daughter, Lily, adores this book as well. It’s just plain fun to tuck in and say good night to all of the different construction vehicles.

Buy it HERE

5. The Good Egg By: Jory John & Pete Oswald

My sister sent me this book a while back and it sure was a crack up… pun intended haha… I love the themes in this story about loosening up, letting go, letting other be themselves and taking care of yourself. Adults and kids alike will get a kick out of this sweet book.

Buy it HERE

So let me know what you guys think of this list. Drop me a comment with your favorite children’s book, I love to discover new books! Let me know if you read any of these and what you think hope you guys have an amazing day!

Xo,

Lauren

One thought on “5 Books You Need on your Kid’s Bookshelf ASAP

  1. I love “The Little House” and “Good Night, Goodnight, Construction Site”, (I can hear William’s little boy voice saying the words, ‘Good night excavator, goodnight’… so adorable). These two books are the only ones I’ve read. I look forward to reading the other three, especially Joanna Gaines’ book, “We Are the Gardeners”! Can’t wait to add them to my children’s book shelf📚!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment