Bridgerton – The Sexy Gift that Keeps on Giving

Stop whatever it is you’re doing right now and watch Bridgerton of Netflix. That will mean that you should not be reading this sentence because you, dear reader have not paid heed to my advice…oh man I am so so deep in this world of all things Bridgerton this author is even beginning to talk like Lady Whistledown herself.

In case you have been underneath a rock or glued to YouTube, watching yet more near-unbelievable-historical-events happening on a daily basis, then you may not know that on Christmas day Shondaland dropped their newest juicy and oh so satisfying show — you guessed it, Bridgerton. 

This show is based on the best-selling romance novels of the same name, by Julia Quinn. Set in regency England, it revolves around the love lives of the eight Bridgerton children, a well-connected family of London’s elite. There are few things more delicious than a well-dressed man with an English accent in period costume – and if you’ve read any of my other blog posts, then you know what those few things are typically wrapped in a kilt – I digress –

The Bridgerton Brothers

After I binged the first season (twice in rapid succession) I bought the first book in the series, entitled, The Duke and I. I read it in two days (and that’s with distractions aka 3 kids and a husband to look after). I ordered books 2 & 3 two days ago and started to read the digital copies while I waited for the hard copies to arrive. Unfortunately, or rather very fortunately for me I devoured books 2 & 3 in a matter of hours. I COULD NOT PUT THEM DOWN.

I have been sucked in so totally and completely and I am in heaven! I am not the type to be upset by differences between book and screen adaptations — whatever gaps the books fill in that the show doesn’t cover just makes the story as a whole so much fuller. Try not to nit-pick, just enjoy what the story has to offer in whatever (or both) format you choose to devour. You will not be sorry.

This is why I love stories (good ones that is). I love the escape (and God knows we all need one right about now). I love to be immersed in a spectacularly designed fictional world, this is the very reason why I am a writer. I daydream about stories constantly – ones I create and ones others create. I appreciate the craftsmanship of a story that is so well done, it sweeps you off your feet – and Bridgerton has done just that. Bridgerton on Netflix is a glorious feast for the eyes, it’s juicy, witty, romantic, sexy and so fun.

So please stop what you are doing right now and watch this incredible, delectable show and then tell me all your thoughts! And Let me know if you have read the books!

XO, Lauren

2 thoughts on “Bridgerton – The Sexy Gift that Keeps on Giving

  1. Hi Lauren, I love to see that “like” minds have devoured Bridgerton! I wasn’t a fast sell, though…I hemmed and hawed and DID nit pick the first episode to death. I decided to settle down and just enjoy the show because it definitely becomes habit-forming! Beautiful characters, juicy plot and LOVE, make this a sweet and engaging gem. I loved the progression of the story and found myself slowing down my watching sessions so I could savor every minute! Keep writing, Lauren, love reading your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I just finished up season 1! 🥰🥰 I am in love and I think (although he’ll deny it) he became invested in Daphne and the Duke too!
    I read the negative reviews on IMDB halfway through the season and thought “you people need to get a sense of humor!” I will have to look into the books. PS I’m a HUGE Outlander fan but gave up the cable channel for $ purposes so catch what I can on Netflix.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment